Mother and George Washington

Mother and George Washington

The Father of our Country’s
Birthday is today.
It’s memorable,
But not in only one way.

Because, you see, our dear Mother
Was born on this day, too.
She remains such a blessing
For me and also you.

With ice cream (a la mode)
As we eat our cherry pie,
We’ll remember George and Mother
We cannot tell a lie.

So, we see that we are double blessed,
In 1918 Mother, and George 1732.
Both meaning so much to all of us,
Born on February Twenty-Two.

– Charles B. Mayes

Mother and George Washington Copyright © 2012 by Charles B. Mayes.  All Rights Reserved.

If you would like to use this poem on your website; in your newsletter; bulletin; speech; sermon; class; etc., you must indicate on the communication that the author is “Charles B. Mayes” and it is “Used by Permission”.  If it is used on a website, please add our website address, or link to http://www.ChristianPoetryPublishing.com which can be connected to from outside this site.  Note:  The illustration is not to be used in any way without permission from http://www.freeclipartnow.com.

I really appreciate my followers and those who find my blog.  I am so grateful that you read my blog and prayerfully hope that you will be blessed as God has blessed me!

I am thankful to Meredith Williams, Director of Publications, among other things,  at my alma mater, Ozark Christian College in Joplin, MO, mentioning my book,  A New Year Resolution and Other Poems [including The Missionaries].  This in the current Winter 2012 Compass.

Meredith has also put together the booklet, In the Midst of the Storm  –             “stories of the Joplin Tornado and the presence of God.”  Please take time to read it.    [ See http://www.occ.edu/Tornado/ ].

I would like to do some Book Readings in the San Jose, California area. If you are interested in having me come to your group, please fill out the form below and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

Also, if you would like to purchase a copy of this new book (22 poem chapbook),       A New Year Resolution and Other Poems (including The Missionaries) by Charles B. Mayes. 2011, please fill out the form below and I will get back to you about description,  price, payment, and mailing arrangements as soon as possible.

If you receive these poems by email, to use my form to answer me, just forget the form on the email and go to the bottom left and click on farsails which will take you to my blog.  Then choose this poem and you can use the form with the poem.

Thank you.

###

