Changes

Autumn Tree - Front Yard Beauty

 

 

     

Changes

One day in church,
I voiced my prayer
For a sister
Who sits in front of us, right there.

They gave me the microphone
With all heads bowed.
The small congregation laid on hands,
While I prayed aloud.

I knew that God would work
When I prayed that day,
But I didn’t know how
And in what way.

Then the next Sunday
The tables were turned, you see.
For it was that dear Sister
Who was praying for me.

Things change very quickly,
Downs to ups, ups to downs
As you live your life –
From a big smile to a serious frown.

But I do know this
As I hold His hand,
He will help me trust Him
All the way to Gloryland.

— Charles B. Mayes

Changes © 2011 by Charles B. Mayes. All Rights Reserved.

Illustrations/graphics supplied by GospelGifs.com are copyrighted and used with permission.

Our lives can change very quickly.  That’s why we must always trust Jesus Christ daily.

If you would like to receive my free Christian poetry reading emails from time to time, fill out the Contact Form below with the word “Follow.”

I appreciate what Larry Pine wrote in his South Bay Concert News (March) referring to my Poetry Reading on February 6th, 2015, the following:

“The Christian poetry of Charles Mayes added a creative break to the Bethel Hymn Sing. Even poems with motions for Children’s programs . . . ”

If you stopped by this site or are a regular follower – Welcome!!! May God richly bless you!

ChristianPoetryPublishing.com – ”As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’ ” (Holy Bible – Acts 17:28)

###

 

