The Old Country Church

chrch2c- Church - Dusk

The Old Country Church

I remember the old country church,
Just south of town, a mile or two,
Where mama and papa would take me,
I saw children with grown-ups sittin’ on the pews.

Before the preacher preached,
A child I could barely see,
On a chair behind the pulpit,
He sang, “Jesus Loves Me.”

Folks lifting their voices,
Singin’ those grand ole Gospel songs,
Reminding me of heaven,
Where nothin’ is wrong.

Then right after dusk,
It was time for the invitation,
Where many came forward,
For God’s adoration.

I remember the old country church,
And will ‘til I die,
‘Cause we’ll all meet in heaven,
The Church in the sky.

— Charles B. Mayes

The Old Country Church © 2015 by Charles B. Mayes. All Rights Reserved.

Illustrations/graphics supplied by GospelGifs.com are copyrighted and used with permission.

One of my first memories of a church building is a country church, at dusk, right outside my hometown.  We need to remember that the church is not the building, but the people – “the called out ones”.  So, no special building or any building is needed for the church to meet.

If you would like to receive my free Christian poetry reading emails from time to time, fill out the Contact Form below with the word “Follow.”


I appreciate what Larry Pine wrote in his South Bay Concert News (March) referring to my Poetry Reading on February 6th, 2015, the following:

“The Christian poetry of Charles Mayes added a creative break to the Bethel Hymn Sing. Even poems with motions for Children’s programs . . . ”

Thank you for following my site. Also, if you have stopped by for awhile I really appreciate it. May God richly bless you!

ChristianPoetryPublishing.com – ”As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’ ” (Holy Bible – Acts 17:28)

###

